Log In to Register
When and Where
  • 2024-01-25 2:00 PM
  • 2024-01-25 3:00 PM
  • Eastern Time
  • Zoom

NOTE: This webinar is scheduled for Thursday, January 25.

Using Acceptance and Commitment Therapy to Build Resilience and Coping During Infertility 

Dr. Wood will review cognitive, emotional, and psychological responses to infertility. Social, cultural, and religious variables in coping will also be explored. Dr. Wood will discuss current research on the effectiveness of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and demonstrate techniques to illustrate how ACT can be effectively applied within reproductive psychology to promote resilience, coping, and adjustment to infertility. 

About the Presenter

Tonya Wood, PhD, is a licensed psychologist who has nearly 20 years of clinical and teaching experience. She earned her PhD at the University of Virginia. Since 2015 she has served as the Director of Clinical Training in the PsyD Clinical Psychology program in GSEP and in January 2021 took on the role of Director of Assessment for Psychology Division. Throughout her career Dr. Wood has worked in a variety of academic, community, and public sector settings with a particular focus on providing quality services to marginalized populations. She has extensive supervision and teaching experience and has provided numerous presentations on subjects such as cultural diversity, clinical supervision, community violence, self-care, and reproductive psychology. She was the 2020 President of the California Psychological Association. She has a private practice in the greater Los Angeles area, with an emphasis on relationships, women’s health, and infertility. .  

Continuing Education Information

1 CE Credit, Instructional Level: Intermediate

1 Contact Hour (New York Board of Psychology)

Learning Objectives:

  1. List three psychological impacts of infertility on individuals and couples.
  2. Identify three cultural and psychosocial factors that improve resilience and coping for individuals and couples dealing with infertility.
  3. Describe three techniques of acceptance and commitment therapy that have utility with clients dealing with infertility and pregnancy loss.

Disclosures: There is no commercial support for this presentation and there are no situations or relationships for the presenter that could be constructed as a conflict of interest.

Please review our webinar tips and CE eligibility guidelines prior to the day of the webinar. Email addresses of webinar registrations may be used by National Register to promote our additional resources and webinars.

Webinar start time is 2:00pm ET/1pm CT/12pm MT/11am PT. Please register by 1:15pm ET the day of the webinar.